Can-Quest ESL & TOEFL Academy

#1-117 East 15th St..
Zip: V7L 2P7
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Phone: (604) 990-1717

Zone: USA/Canada
Web: http://www.canquestacademy.com/
Updated: More than one year ago.
Views: 6535

School Access:
User:
Password:

Contact School


  RATINGS
T:Teaching - A:Administration - L:Location - TC:Technology - LE:Learning Environment - EP:Extracurricular Programs - L:Library - HS:Housing Services - S:Safety QP:Quality-Price Relation - OS:Overall Satisfaction   |   RATINGS: 1 - Very bad, 2 - Bad, 3 - Acceptable, 4 - Good, 5- Excellent
T A L TC LE EP L HS S QP OS VOTES
3.62 3.29 3.67 3.29 3.38 2.88 2.46 2.1 3.6 3.38 3.62 207



REVIEWS
From Zanna on 03-20-2018
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
I have been a student at CanQuest for a few months now after moving to Vancouver from Turkey and have enjoyed the things I have been taught. Depending on you goals, there are ESL classes to help improve your English skills and also professional programs for requirements like TOEFL and IELTS. In my conversation class, the teachers have taught me very useful expressions and conversation sayings/vocabulary that really helps me with life here in Canada. The courses are very helpful.At my previous language school we only learned grammar every day, which can be good when writing papers, but not helpful in daily life.

Yes the building itself is old, but the location is very central and convenient. Who cares if the building is old? Most of North Vancouver buildings are old anyway. Inside can quest itself, the office is in decent shape and meets my studying needs with computers and extra classroom space to study. Like Avery, I also attend UBC and there are worse buildings on campus!

From Zanna on 03-20-2018
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
I have been a student at CanQuest for a few months now after moving to Vancouver from Turkey and have enjoyed the things I have been taught. Depending on you goals, there are ESL classes to help improve your English skills and also professional programs for requirements like TOEFL and IELTS. In my conversation class, the teachers have taught me very useful expressions and conversation sayings/vocabulary that really helps me with life here in Canada. The courses are very helpful.At my previous language school we only learned grammar every day, which can be good when writing papers, but not helpful in daily life.

Yes the building itself is old, but the location is very central and convenient. Who cares if the building is old? Most of North Vancouver buildings are old anyway. Inside can quest itself, the office is in decent shape and meets my studying needs with computers and extra classroom space to study. Like Avery, I also attend UBC and there are worse buildings on campus!

From elham on 03-20-2018
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
I am very happy with the quality of education and manners at this school. My IELTS score jumped from 5.5 to 7.5 after taking their IELTS course.I recommended this school to some friends who are taking their CELPIP and ESL classes, and they are all very happy. It was really peace of mind for me when I registered in their IELTS class because if the students do not get the mark they need for IELTS, TOEFL, CELPIP and LPI, they can repeat or continue their classes at no extra costs.

From Fariba on 01-16-2018
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
I really benefited from my classes here. Very good teachers and books that teach modern English as well as academic English. My whole family have studied here in different periods of time. My parents, two uncles, my sister and several of my friends. You get a lot of individual attention from teachers. The computer lab is a great place to practise different skills. I really recommend this school. Please ignore those hateful comments; not true at all. Go see for yourself. By the way, they also have free conversation classes which are really useful.

From thehills on 12-22-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
The "positive" reviews written all across the internet are actually the exact same one's by someone called Avery Wong and are word for word the same exact written. I think future students are being deceived as I was. What you see as "positive reviews" for this place are actually by the crazy owners who keep reposting the same review everywhere! My personal time at this esl school was supplemented with a lot of extra work and study, as well as trying to interact with people from the country on a daily basis. You learn best by listening to radio, tv and movies, as well as just talking in meetup.com groups.

From FE on 12-22-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
Do your research! There's tons of schools with newer technology, mixed media and other modes of instruction which are excelling in their teaching of international students in a better equipped and modernized buildings with free parking. Personally I just went for the place that was closest to where I was being hosted. I learned far better using online courses and supplementing them with real conversations around town.

From reza on 11-21-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
As a happy student at Can-Quest ESL Academy, I really want to contact the people who wrote the negative comments because they are completely false and those who wrote them obviously have mental issues. I am sure they did not have problems with the staff because they are great and really helpful. The classes are clean and bright and the computer lab quite modern. It is sad that some people that I believe is one person under different names should say such sick things about a reputable school. This school is the only language school on the North Shore accredited by the Ministry of Advanced Education. The school should take legal action against the person who wrote the hateful comments. It is just sad! For people who read these comments, I suggest that they visit the school and see for themselves.

From Linda on 11-21-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
We are six friends studying at Can-Quest and it is a great place to study ESL and prepare for IELTS or TOEFL exams. The teachers are really knowledgeable and helpful. There was a tenant in the building who had serious mental issues that caused problems in the building. Even one time she entered our class and started screaming for no reason. Eventually she was evicted. I think the negative comments were written by that person. The school has beautiful bright rooms with air conditioners as well as a modern computer lab. My friends and I are sorry for that person and wish her recovery.

From Q on 08-25-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
SCHOOL IS CLOSED DUE TO BUILDING BEING A HEALTH AND SAFETY HAZARD AND SOLD FOR NEW CONDO DEVELOPMENT.

From Arta on 08-09-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
SO MANY ESL SCHOOLS MUCH BETTER THAN THIS DISGUSTING PLACE WHICH SHOULD NOT CALL ITSELF AN ACADEMY. RIP OFF! BUILDING IS OLD AND A HEALTH HAZARD - INSECTS ALL AROUND AND THINGS BREAKING DOWN!

From Haleh S on 07-02-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
Unprofessional office and dated broken down building. Staff of 1 (admin). No parking. No air conditioning. No central heat most of winter. No library or laptops, only PC's from the 80/90s. One small cramped room. Have no clue why its called academy or school! It seems my husband was also told to get immigration assistance from Fred's wife (owner) on the same floor. Big waste of time - very condescending, self-righteous and rude. Will not go back or recommend.

From V Bleidel on 06-27-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
A JOKE! WORST SCHOOL IN CANADA!

From L on 05-28-2017
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
"School" is one room in an old building and many other professionals like computer repair shop, driving school and healthcare, which is falling apart and has no heat or air conditioning!!! Cramped, lacking a library, Teaching skills below average at best.

From Riley on 12-17-2013
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
I attended this school after having wasted a lot of my time at other institutions for TOEFL prep classes. I can safely say this place prepared me so well and the instructors are amazing

From Lupo on 11-24-2010
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
The teachers are very good. The best thing about the classes was the fact that they combined fun with learning. I think it is a very good course, where you have a lot of fun

From click me to send me a message Miguel Salamanca on 11-10-2010
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
Great TOEFL program! Loved the curriculum and the teachers where great. I got prepared for the Toefl in a blink. I felt so much more sure when I sit for the test. It was really important for me and they gave it all the importance it deserved. Great place to learn.
I recommend this school for ESL tests!

From Paula on 07-03-2010
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
After attending several ESL courses at cap, UBC and other language schools, I was referred to Can Quest. The main teacher and owner of the school is one of the most educated and best English teachers out there(with his manner of teaching, extra help, FREE use of the computer lab to practice, etc.) I really wish that I had been introduced to Can- Quest earlier because I would have saved a lot of money and i wouldn't have wasted my time. CAN QUEST ESL & TOEFL ACADEMY IS DEFINITLY RECOMMENDED.

From Helia Maleki on 10-03-2009
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
BEST ENGLISH SCHOOL IN THE WORLD!

From Anonymous on 08-23-2008
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
Canquest academy is the only TOEFL testing site on the North Shore. It is one of the best language schools.

From Naghmeh on 07-03-2008
  - was this helpful? Yes / No
I studied at this school for about a year and I improved twice as much as a friend who attended another school and paid way more than me.